Best Marijuana Dispensaries in Massachusetts
Recreational and Medical Marijuana is legal is Massachusetts for individuals 21 years of age and older. You can purchase marijuana from any Massachusetts state-licensed dispensary, regardless of your patient status. Marijuana delivery in Massachusetts is also available throughout the state. See below for the best marijuana dispensaries in Massachusetts.
All Marijuana Dispensaries Near Me
Where Can I Buy Marijuana in Massachusetts?
Registered patients can purchase a 60-day supply of medical marijuana from any state-licensed dispensary. The 60-day supply is limited to 10 ounces, though the certifying health care provider can specify more on the patient’s certificate. There are medical marijuana delivery services available, and a designated caregiver may transport medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary or grow site to a registered patient. Medical marijuana is tax-exempt in Massachusetts.
Adults age 21 and older can purchase 1 ounce of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate from licensed marijuana retailers. Adult-use cannabis is subject to a 6.25% sales tax, a 10.75% state excise tax, and a potential municipal tax of up to 3%. As such, most adult-use marijuana consumers could encounter a total tax rate of about 20%.
Where Can I Consume Marijuana?
Marijuana can be consumed on private property, but marijuana products cannot be smoked, eaten, or vaped in public. Furthermore, marijuana products cannot be smoked where tobacco smoking is prohibited. Adult-use consumers as well as registered patients and their caregivers can carry marijuana in their vehicles as long as it is in a sealed container in the trunk or a locked glove compartment.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal. Neither drivers nor passengers may consume marijuana in a vehicle. Consumption is generally banned in public but the Commission does allow local jurisdictions to set their own rules around cafes, smoke rooms, or other options for social marijuana consumption.
Legal Possession of Marijuana
Adults 21 and older, as well as patients and their caregivers, are allowed to possess 10 ounces (283 grams) of marijuana inside their homes, and less than 1 ounce (28 grams) in public. Adults are also allowed to grow up to six marijuana plants per person and up to 12 per household in their homes.
While medical and adult-use marijuana are now legal in Massachusetts, both patients and consumers still face penalties for violating what is allowable under state law. Specifically, public consumption of marijuana or smoking it where smoking tobacco is prohibited can result in a fine of $100, and possessing an open container of marijuana in a vehicle can result in a fine of $500.
More on Marijuana Dispensaries
Be sure to check out: 5 Qualities of a Great Marijuana Dispensary