Best Marijuana Dispensaries in Illinois
Recreational and Medical Marijuana is legal is Illinois for individuals 21 years of age and older. You can purchase marijuana from any Illinois state-licensed dispensary, regardless of your patient status. Marijuana delivery in Illinois is also available throughout the state. See below for the best marijuana dispensaries in Illinois.
All Marijuana Dispensaries Near Me
Where Can I Buy Marijuana in Illinois?
Registered patients and caregivers may legally purchase medical marijuana at a dispensary. Medical patients are responsible for a 1% pharmaceutical tax, while cultivators and dispensaries must pay a 7% of the sales price per ounce. Patients and caregivers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of usable marijuana per 14-day period.
Qualifying patients may purchase medical marijuana only from their chosen dispensary, as indicated in their initial registry application form. A patient can change their selected dispensary at any time free of charge by completing the Medical Marijuana Selection Form.
Adults over the age of 18 can purchase cannabis for recreational use at any one of Illinois’ many adult-use dispensaries. Like their medical counterparts, adult-use growers pay a 7% tax but only on their first sale. Marijuana Dispensaries, however, pay 10% tax on products with less than 35% THC, 25% on products with more than 35% THC, and 20% on any marijuana infused products.
While medical marijuana dispensaries are exempt from any local taxes, adult-use shops pay the state’s 6.25% tax as well as any local taxes, though cities can’t tax more than 3% and counties are limited to 3.75%. Shoppers can expect those taxes to be built into the price of marijuana.
Where Can I Consume Marijuana in Illinois?
Consuming marijuana in any public place or where it would reasonably endanger the health or well-being of another person is prohibited. Consumption on school grounds is prohibited, with the exception of minors who may bring their medicine to school and consume under the supervision of a parent, guardian, caregiver, or school nurse. Minors are not allowed to smoke or vape marijuana.
Consuming marijuana before operating any vehicle or before undertaking tasks that would constitute negligence or professional malpractice will subject violators to similar penalties as alcohol-related driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offenses.
Legal Possession of Marijuana in Illinois
Patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana or marijuana products during any 14-day period. Patients can ask their doctor for a recommendation to possess more cannabis if needed. Medical marijuana cardholders can transport marijuana inside secure, sealed containers that are inaccessible while driving. Neither drivers nor passengers may consume marijuana inside a vehicle.
Schools, employers, and landlords cannot refuse to enroll, employ, or lease an apartment to a medical marijuana consumer solely based on their status as a patient or caregiver.
Patients may not give away medical marijuana. Caregivers can purchase or possess marijuana medicine on behalf of their designated patient only. Adults can give away marijuana to anyone over the age of 21 provided no payment changes hands.
The possession limits for Illinois residents over the age of 21 are:
- 30 grams of raw marijuana flower
- No more than 500 milligrams of THC in marijuana-infused products
- 5 grams of marijuana concentrates
Out-of-state visitors over the age of 21 may possess:
- 15 grams of flower
- No more than 250 milligrams of THC in marijuana-infused products
- 2.5 grams of marijuana concentrates
More on Marijuana Dispensaries
Be sure to check out: 5 Qualities of a Great Marijuana Dispensary